Chicago The Band Fan Forum

The official community for fans of the legendary rock band with horns.







Rhino Handmade’s Two-Disc Set Captures Dynamic Previously Unreleased Performances Recorded Live At The Capital Centre In Maryland

Pre-order Exclusively At On April 11, Ships May 24

LOS ANGELES – After releasing its eighth consecutive gold album in just six years, Chicago embarked upon a massive stadium tour in 1975 that’s considered to be one of its finest. The shows found the group at the pinnacle of its prowess, combining the jaw-dropping musicality and contagious onstage energy that made Chicago one of the most successful acts in American pop history.

Rhino Handmade provides a snapshot from this extraordinary tour for the ages with a two-disc set that contains two hours of previously unreleased performances recorded June 24-26 at the Capital Centre in Largo, Maryland. The collection is presented in a hardbound slipcase accompanied by a foldout poster that features rare photos from the tour, LIVE IN ’75 is available April 11 for pre-order exclusively at for $39.98 and will be shipping on May 24.

LIVE IN ’75 includes selections from all of the group’s albums through its then-current Chicago VIII. The set flows like a greatest hits collection that spans nearly every smash – from Robert Lamm’s smooth baritone on “Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?” to the Lee Loughnane-penned hit “Call On Me” – but leaves room for beloved album tracks like the latin-flavored “Mongonucleosis.” The set also includes a complete performance of the crowd-pleasing “Ballet For A Girl In Buchannon” suite that James Pankow composed for the Chicago II album.

The band came out rocking, opening with “Introduction” from the ensemble’s stunning 1969 debut Chicago Transit Authority before shifting to “Anyway You Want” from its most recent LP. The combination neatly distilled Chicago’s past and present into a powerful one-two punch that established an intensity that did not let up through the entire show.

LIVE IN ’75 includes Chicago’s distinctive take on a pair of cover tunes. The first, “I’m A Man,” finds the band making The Spencer Davis Group classic their own, led by a rousing guitar performance from Terry Kath. The second, the Beatles’ “Got To Get You Into My Life,” was significant because it was the song that originally seeded Walter Parazaider’s imagination with the notion of a new kind of rock ’n’ roll band with horns.

Track Listing

Disc 1
1.    “Introduction”
2.    “Anyway You Want”
3.    “Beginnings”
4.    “Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is?”
5.    “Call On Me”
6.     “Make Me Smile”
7.    “So Much To Say, So Much To Give”
8.    “Anxiety’s Moment”
9.    “West Virginia Fantasies”
10.    “Colour My World”
11.    “To Be Free”
12.    “Now More Than Ever”
13.    “Ain’t It Blue?”
14.    “Just You ’N’ Me”
15.    “(I’ve Been) Searchin’ So Long”
16.    “Mongonucleosis”
17.    “Old Days”
18.    “25 Or 6 To 4”

Disc 2
1.    “Got To Get You Into My Life”
2.    “Free”
3.    “I’m A Man”
4.    “Dialogue”
5.    “Wishing You Were Here”
6.    “Feelin’ Stronger Every Day”

Views: 4051


You need to be a member of Chicago The Band Fan Forum to add comments!

Join Chicago The Band Fan Forum

Comment by Terry212am on June 8, 2011 at 9:02pm
So, I'm listening to 75 for the first time now. Initially, I have to say that I was VERY disappointed with the sound.  Aside from some really iffy notes by Peter (especially on Anyway You Want It and some bad ones in Call On Me), there was just SO much reverb and the low end was SO prominent it made the vocals and guitars hard to really get listening to an album that's at the end of a metal tunnel.  I couldn't get into it at all.  And then I changed the preset in iTunes to "Treble Booster."  For me, if fixed the whole problem.  Suddenly I can really hear the vocals and guitars and melodies again and the bass end isn't so grating.  It's like a whole new experience.  I'm jamming out to Ain't It Blue for the first time live.  Man, I love this song.  One of the underrated ones (I know that's a different thread).  Oh, and I thought that I had heard enough versions of the Ballet, but Terry's guitar on Now More Than Ever (the part before it goes back to Make Me Smile) was different and awesome.
Comment by Norm Sheehan on June 6, 2011 at 4:41am

Excellent recording plus the liner notes, rare photos and the mini poster are all bonuses with this handmade release from Rhino - even the cover of the enclosed booklet with the liner notes is from the old concert program from the tour: the logo carved into rock a la Monument Valley in Utah!

Being a drummer, the best tune on the record is "Mongonucleosis"! Extended with trumpet solo by Lee and the drum/percussion interplay between Danny and Laudir with the panning up-and-down of roto-toms and congas is AWESOME!!!

Now we have a live recording of the band during the phenomenal 1975 Tour with The Beach Boys plus a close second to Carnegie Hall at capturing the band at the height of their career with which I think along with Terry and newest member Laudir DeOliveira was the best lineup in the band's long history -

Great job, Rhino!   

Comment by Dan Finnegan on May 31, 2011 at 7:05am
Team, Just got finished with a good work out at the local healthclub--had CHICAGO XXXIV on my I-POD, this is a great production and very good quality.....I closed my eyes and remembered when I was in person at the Chicago-Beach Boys concerts at the Chicago Stadium back in 1975----Great memories---Thanks CHICAGO for releasing this great music: Dan Finnegan
Comment by Mark West on May 30, 2011 at 2:55pm
Happiness is listening to a 36 year-old concert while on the elliptical trainer. "Chicago Live in '75" - excellent! "Ballet to a Girl in Buchannon" is a favorite
Comment by Jim Dokey on May 16, 2011 at 1:03pm



Comment by Harold on May 6, 2011 at 4:37pm
Yes!!!!!!!!!!!!! A mention in Rolling Stone???? When ARE the pigs flying?????
Comment by Richard Angeloni on May 4, 2011 at 9:03pm
Dear lord, a mention in Rolling Stone! I guess I'll see pigs flying by my window any moment now.
Comment by Chicago-Admin on May 4, 2011 at 7:59pm
Comment by Tom Dynes on April 20, 2011 at 7:17pm
Can't wait.  Just hearing "Ain't It Blue" live is worth the price alone.
Comment by Dennis DeFlavis on April 13, 2011 at 5:56am
this was one of the first Chicago concerts I wnt to. Wow what memories, cna't wait until it gets here

© 2017   Created by Chicago-Admin.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service